5th National conference on ETET @ Dept of ME

Author: Mr. Raghavendra J V, Asst. Professor, Dept of ME                                   Date: 12-03-2016

5th National conference on “Emerging Trends in Engineering Technologies, “ETET-2016” is a prestigious event jointly organized by Dept. of Mechanical Engineering on 11TH and 12TH of March-2016 in association with other Departments of Jyothy Institute of Technology (JIT), Bengaluru-560082. Shri M.Narasimhan, Trustee, Jyothy Charitable Trust, Presided over the function. Dr. S.G Sreekanteswara Swamy, Fellow, KSCST was the Chief Guest and Mrs. Sarvana Kumari Sundram, Director, Insurance Solutions, VIRTUSA Guest of Honour, for the Inaugural function on 11-03-2016. Principal, Dr. K.V. Mahendra welcomed the gathering.

The Conference was an overwhelming success, attracting more than 200 Authors from different engineering branches across country and provided great intellectual and technical interaction for the participants.

The Department of Mechanical engineering has received very good response wherein more than 50 authors have presented technical papers from reputed engineering colleges across Karnataka and Tamilnadu. The conference was conducted in 3 sessions. On Day-1, all sessions were chaired by Dr.Harisha S.K, Associate professor, Department of Mechanical Engineering, R.V.C.E, Bengaluru and Prof. Rakesh P, Assistant Professor, Department of Mechanical Engineering, J.I.T, Bengaluru. On Day-2, all sessions were chaired by Dr. Suresh P.M, Professor and H.O.D, Department of Mechanical Engineering, K.S.I.T, Bengaluru and Prof. Muralidhar Sharma K.V, Assistant Professor, Department of Mechanical Engineering, J.I.T, Bengaluru.

On Day-1, the best paper awards are;

1st Prize: Mr. Sajjan Raj Keshari, Mr. Sagar Surendran, Mr. Sandeep G, Mr.Shreevathsa P.N, Mr. Avinash. L, Mr. Kotgi Kotresh tittled “The effect of SiCp Reinforcement on the microstructure, mechanical properties and Tribological behaviour of A-356 Alloy” of NMIT, Bengaluru.

2nd  Prize: Mr. Abhinav Mahendra & Mr. Vishak Nandan B S tittled “An overview of 3D printing for Manufacturing” of BMSCE, Bengaluru.

On Day-2, the best paper awards are;

1st Prize: Mr. Thejaraju, Mr. Levin George, Mr. Albin Joseph, Mr. Abhishek Dubey tittled “Natural Convection Heat Transfer of oval shaped perforated fin arrays” of Christ University, Bengaluru.

2ND Prize: Mr. Anzil Jose, Mrs. Bindushree S, Mr. Prashantha Kumar S T Wear Characterization of Fly Ash With Various Binders and Reinforcement Materials” of VVIT, Bengaluru.

1st Prize: Mr. Rozan Manzoor, Mr. Anupam Ananda P “Design and Fabrication of Pneumatic Transplanter” of Christ University, Bengaluru.

2ND Prize: Mr. Hemadri Naidu.T “A Comparative Study of Mechanical Properties in Joining of Aluminum Alloy AA6061-T6 Material Using TIG Welding Process With and Without Pulsation” of K.S Polytechnic, Bengaluru.

The valedictory function was held on 12-03-2016. Mr.Gopichandra Reddy, HCL Technologies was the chief guest. The feed back from participants was very encouraging. Principal, Dr. K.V. Mahendra welcomed the gathering Session wise prizes for best papers were distributed during valedictory function by the chief guest.

Leave a Comment

NOTE - You can use these HTML tags and attributes:
<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>